Encore Career Resources

So, Cindy found some neat resources for people looking for an “encore career” after they choose to leave their first career: mynextmove.org.

They have a load of resources for job hunters.  My favorite is their Interest Profiler.  I took a quick 60 question quiz and here’s what I got:

My Interest Profiler Results

Apparently I’m artistic.  Too bad I never actually do art.  Anyways, I’d say the profiler is pretty accurate in most respects.  I think I scored abnormally low on the social metric because most of the socially-related questions were about caring for children, which is not something I would wish on myself for eight hours a day.

So, now that I know my interests, I have to match them to my current or expected level of training and education.  The profiler calls these “job zones.”  The training and preparation job zones range from level one, which requires almost no training or experience, to level five, which requires extensive experience and graduate or post-graduate education.  I went with level five because I come from the land of go-big-or-go-home.

Interest Profiler Results

Well, I’m not wild about the idea of being and economist, thanks.  I think I only say that, though, because I already know that I want to be a financial planner/wealth manager.  If I didn’t think that I was already in the perfect job for me, right now, I would look into work that’s something similar to being an economist – being a Professor in Consumer Sciences.

There are also loads of information about lots of careers on the website.  I’m not confident about the information the site gives about how to develop the suite of skills needed for a given job.  Take a look at the resource for Personal Financial Advisors. The list under the knowledge heading is pretty much the case, but not as accurate as it could be.  The list of skills is not really that accurate, either.  There’s one big skill they’re missing: the ability to sell product and bring in clients.  Most jobs in the personal financial advising industry are sales jobs and those that aren’t are usually based on the ability of an advisor to bring in clients.  It’s a pretty big omission.  Also, the technology section omits some pretty big names in software and includes some that you don’t need to know unless it’s specific to your job.  For example, every financial planning advisory job I’ve run across requires a high level of skill with Microsoft Excel, Word, and PowerPoint.  No personal financial advisory job I’ve seen requires knowledge of specific types of portfolio optimization software, CRM software, or document management software.  They may have a preference in the job listing, but most firms realize that it’s unreasonable to expect someone to already be trained on that kind of software, since there are so many providers.  My point is that you shouldn’t leap into training yourself on whatever these job profiles say.  You should take a look at a substantial sample of job listings for the position you want, and figure out what they’re looking for.

I don’t want to detract from the overall point, though.  The mynextmove.org has a great collection of job resources for someone who’s looking for guidance when looking for  a new career.

This entry was posted in Career and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.