Worthwhile Discussions from “The Diane Rehm Show”

I found a couple great recent epidoses from The Diane Rehm Show, and you guys may enjoy them:

  • Jeff Faux: “The Servant Economy” (Tuesday, July 17, 2012 – 11:06 a.m.) –  From the website: “Jeff Faux of the Economic Policy Institute argues Americans are in denial. Everyone knows, he says, but no one faces up to the fact that the United States can no longer afford to have subsidized unregulated markets, be the world’s global power and provide a steadily rising standard of living… Despite public posturing to the contrary, it’s America’s middle class that will be sacrificed on this current path…”  The conversation is tremendously interesting and worthy of your time.  I’d like to call special attention to the discussion on flat real household wages and the remedies middle class households have been using to make up the difference between the middle class lifestyle and middle class wherewithal.
  • Andrew Delbanco: “College: What It Was, Is, and Should Be” (Thursday, July 12, 2012 – 11:06 a.m.) – From the Website: “The traditional four-year college experience is in danger of becoming a thing the past. As more students graduate with staggering debt and fewer job prospects, many are questioning the value of a college degree. College is becoming a place where a growing number of students go to gain credentials. It used to be a place where young people discovered their passions and tested ideas with the help of teachers and peers…”  I saw lots of this during my time at Purdue, and suffered from this myself.  College wasn’t a place to discover your interests.  Only wealthy students could afford that.  If you went to school without a plan to get your education done quickly and efficiently, then the debt load would be crushing.  Instead, I had to know exactly what I would do when I got out, and I had to have the degree for the type of work I intended to do.  Would I have liked to have a traditional liberal arts education?  You bet.  It just wasn’t in the cards for me.

What do you think?  Sound off in the comments!

This entry was posted in College, Economy, Financial Planning, Goodies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.