Well, It’s Good To Know I’m Not Alone

The other day I wrote an admittedly strident screed about a recent post by Dan Ariley’s, New York Times Bestselling author and alleged “researcher,” post on the value of financial advising.  In summary, I was not too happy with Dan Ariely’s post, and it looks like I’m not alone in having a little something to say about it.

There is a article on Dan Ariely over at AdvisorOne.com.  It takes a more neutral, and dare I say responsible and professional view of Ariely’s scandalous blog post.  Additionally, Wade Pfau (yeah, the author of that nifty article on safe savings rates) has a post on Ariely’s choice of replacement rate.

I’m starting to get concerned that the blog will get all bogged down in flame wars, so I’m going to walk away from this one.

In completely unrelated news, Cindy and I are going to be out of town tomorrow through Friday, so I’m going to have to “phone it in” on a few blog posts.  We’ll be back to our regularly scheduled program of shock and awe in financial planning when I get back.

This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.