Happy Sales Tax Holiday, Arkansas!

Look at this!

Arkansas will hold its first annual sales tax holiday, beginning Saturday, August 6, 2011 at 12:01 a.m. and ending the Sunday, August 7, 2011 at 11:59 p.m. State and local sales tax will not be collected during this 48-hour period on the sale of: (1) Clothing and footwear if the sales price is less than one hundred dollars ($100) per item; (2) Clothing accessories and equipment if the sales price is less than fifty dollars ($50) per item; (3) School supplies; (4) School art supplies; and (5) School instructional materials.

When an opportunity like this comes up, I get a little overly excited.  I think “ooh, look, wigs and hairpieces are also exempt!  I want to buy one!  It’ll be cheap!”  Never-mind that I don’t wear wigs or hairpieces.

I am such a sucker for a sale.  That’s why I stay away from the shops.

Do you want to find out more about Arkansas’ sales tax holiday?  Visit the DFA’s site for an itemized list of products!

This entry was posted in Spending, Taxes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.